‘Logan… I have to pee’ – Marvel’s Logan, is it as good as everyone says it is?

I ventured out of the library last night to go see Logan. The question I had when I left was ‘Is it as good as everyone says it is?’ The simple answer to this is YES. You can leave now, you don’t have to read the rest. In fact, go and watch it, ASAP.

Oh…you’re still here, right…I should get down to my review then…

cuaiczwueaaid_w-jpg-large

X-23 and Logan holding hands – Logan, Fox 2017 

In the near distant future, mutants are basically non-existent. They’ve been wiped out by a mixture of an incident that Charles caused and the laboratory Transigen – part of the same company that put the adamantium into Logan’s bones. It is important to point out that Logan and Charles are getting old; Charles is a ‘nonagenarian’ and Logan is starting to be poisoned by the adamantium, causing him to not be able to heal the way that he used to – each time he is forced to use his healing powers he gets sicker.

X-23 (or Laura) comes into this in a very unusual manner. Logan is working as a chauffeur, driving a rather nice limo for movie-moguls, hen nights and prom goers. He has Charles locked away (I think for his own safety?), being cared for by Caliban – a mutant-hunting mutant. X-23 comes along from the Transigen Lab program (a mutant with the same powers as Logan), and bam, Logan has to try to be the Wolverine again, except this time he’s actually capable of dying.

loganheader-1

Cool guys don’t look at…sunsets? – Logan, Fox 2017

This movie made me have feels. Many feels. So many feels that I cried twice during it. All the feels. Though, I cry about a lot of things – I am a very emotional person. As a Librarian this is pretty counter productive to my job – I have to tell myself to shush!

Don’t go into this movie expecting it to be a superhero movie. It’s more a character development plot, with fighting badassness on the side. Though, saying that, I don’t think the movie would work without the fighting; the fights are a show of Logan, Charles and Laura’s character development. The fights bring them all together.

I really think everyone should watch this movie. I give it a solid 5 star rating. It’s absolutely amazing.

Below is the trailer for the film, just to get you wanting more!

Have you seen Logan? What did you think of it? If not – why? What’s your thoughts on all these Wolverine movies? Leave a comment below! 

(Header Image: Logan, Fox 2017)

Leave a Reply

