‘We’re born believers. We’re just made that way’ – Outcast Volume 1

I thought I would get in some 18+ horror comics. Now, if I were to watch a movie that was an 18+ horror, I would be cowering behind the sofa. I am not good with horror. But reading it is fine, easier to tell my brain that the big scary monsters not actually going come and eat me. With this in mind, I decided to order in Outcast Volume 1: A Darkness Surrounds Him, written by Robert Kirkman (who you may know from writing The Walking Dead).

OutcastVol1_Cover

Outcast Volume 1: A Darkness Surrounds Him –  Outcast, Image Comics, 2015

Now, dear readers, I have to admit before I write about Outcast that I didn’t like it. Not because it’s “scary”, because it isn’t – but nothing happens. Absolutely nothing. It’s such a slow burner, that I took none of it in. I had to turn back to the beginning to remember who someone’s name was because I got him confused with the main character. It was not an easy thing for me to finish. I actually can’t fathom how they made a TV series out if it – perhaps I need to sit down and watch that?

I have nothing against the art of Outcast. I like the gritty style, it fits with the idea of possession and the idea of eating people. However, I didn’t like the feeling of the constant jumping from one storyline to the next. As said earlier, I had to go back to the beginning of the book to check if I was in a flashback or not – I am pretty sure I got Kyle and Joshua confused more than once.

Outcast-2

Kyle and Joshua mid-fight. What are these demons? Why are they after Kyle? – Outcast, Image Comics, 2015

I never understood the story hook about Kyle’s mum, from Reverend Andersron. When talking about it, it was made to seem like Sarah Barnes, Kyle’s mother, and Reverend Anderson were in a relationship. I don’t assume that’s the case, as no other reading around Outcast I have done says that, but feel free to correct me. There were just too many story lines that made no sense to me.

I will attempt to read the other volumes of Outcast – Volume 2: A Vast and Unending Ruin and Volume 3: This Little Light – that I have sat at my foot, and try to understand some of the story! I really wanted to like it, and I just couldn’t get on with it.

Have you read Outcast? What about watched the television series? Which do you like better? Did you struggle as much as I did? Leave a comment below! 

(Header Image: Outcast, Image Comics, 2015)

Leave a Reply

