‘I am Groot’ – Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 2. Does it live up to Volume 1?

I’ll be the first to admit that the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is amazing. I will also be the first to admit that I have seen but a mere handful of the films, (please don’t hate me just yet!) One of my favourite actors at the moment is Chris Pratt, and seeing as he’s the protagonist of Guardians of the Galaxy, I just had to see it! Though I have not read any of the Guardians of the Galaxy, I don’t feel like you need to to  enjoy the story from the film. Without futher ado…I am Groot.

NExlPJRum1w0AE_1_b

The Guardians of the Galaxy! – Guardians of the Galaxy, Marvel Studios, 2017

If nothing else the music in this film is amazing. Within the first few minutes of the film starting, Groot was dancing along to Electric Light Orchestra’s Mister Blue Sky. If that’s not a masterpiece in itself then I don’t know what is. For anyone that’s come into the library, they’ll probably have heard this on quietly in the background many a time. It is one of my favourite songs. I am also a fan of George Harrison’s Sweet Lord and Fleetwood Mac’s The Chain. If you’re also into music of this time period, you’ll enjoy this movie purely for it’s musical value.

Baby-Groot-GIFs

I am Groot! – Guardians of the Galaxy, Marvel Studios, 2017

There’s one bit at the end of the film that seemed a bit OTT to me. Two characters, who’s identities shall remain secret, get into a big battle and begin to destroy everything around them. Though this is key to the plot, I felt like the out and out destruction seemed a bit much. The last super hero film I saw that had that much destruction in it was Batman VS Superman: Dawn of Justice, and we know how well that film did! It’s redeeming feature at this point is that I actually cared about the people fighting; unlike in Batman VS Superman where I couldn’t care less who won.

This is slightly spoliery, but not really – but the MCU loves it’s after credit scenes. Obviously Guardians of the Galaxy 2 would have one. What I didn’t expect was it for to have five! Some of them are a bit Easter-egg-y (like the Groot one), whereas others set up new characters and plot points. I have no idea how the cinema’s staff feel about people sitting in the theatre until the last minute!

All in all I really enjoyed Guardians of the Galaxy 2. Though there were times that characters sort of said how they felt rather than showed it, it still had the same quirkiness and love that the original had. It’s not a disappointing watch at all.

Check out the trailer below!

 

Have you seen Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1 or 2? Going to see it at the cinema? Who’s your favourite character? I am Groot? Leave a comment below!  

(Header Image: Guardians of the Galaxy, Marvel Studios, 2017)

Leave a Reply

