‘Basic Bitch Psychological Warfare’ – Riverdale One-Shot and Single #1 and #2

Riverdale is one of my favourite shows. In a review I did in February, I love it. A lot. Whenever there was a week that Netflix didn’t upload it – let’s just say, I wasn’t happy waiting. Time to see if the comic lives up to the show.
I will attempt to make this review/comparison as spoiler free as possible.

A few weeks ago, I recieved a copy of the Riverdale One Shot and Singles 1 and 2 not so long ago to have a peruse through. All I can say is… I’m disappointed. They’re nothing like the show is. I would have thought that they would have at least made the characters look like the actors, but no; the art is slapdash and chunky. None of the characters look hella attractive, like the TV show, and none of them seem to act the same way.

The comics don’t feel like they have a place in the series. I can’t tell where they take place. They seem to be early on, but I can’t see where their gap is to thrive. Somewhere around Betty becoming a River Vixen, somewhere before Bughead, somewhere where they don’t fit. I think they should have been BEFORE the series, or elaborating more on the series. These stories are seemingly short one shots, which are meant to fit somewhere in the story line… but they don’t. I know I keep repeating it; but take my word for it. They don’t work. At all.
AND don’t get me started on Archie saying he loved Betty in the beginning of the One Shot, when in the series he has no feelings for her. He called her his ‘sweetheart’; look Sweetheart, make up your mind. You can’t feel two things at once. It’s like the writers never spoke to each other.

I will keep collecting the comics, because I love Riverdale. And I love the covers. I am a cover fanatic, and if the art inside was the same as the art outside… maybe I’ll have liked them more.

All in all – I am so upset about how they weren’t anything like the series… I have one thing to say to the writer, Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa; Try again, and try harder.

I am one sad Librarian.

Take a look at the One Shot covers below!

 

 

Have you read the Riverdale comics? What did you think? Angry that I was disappointed, or do you completely agree with me? Leave a comment below!

(Header Image: Riverdale, Archie Comics, 2017)

Leave a Reply

