‘You’re not just a thief. You’re more than that’ – Batman; The Telltale Series

Now, I’m unsure if I’ve said before, but I love video games (probably just as much as I love comics). Want to know what I love MORE than comics or video games? Video games that are comics. Which is why I love Telltale – The way they tell their stories are almost like graphic novels. They come out episodically, like a comic does (though I like to wait till I can binge the whole game at once) and the choices you pick are reminiscent of a choose your own adventure novel.

maxresdefault

It’s not a Batman series without him trying it on with Selina Kyle (Catwoman) at least once – Batman: The Telltale Series, Telltale, 2016

Batman: The Telltale Series came out in 2016, episodes releasing every couple months between August and December. I tend to wait till the whole series is out before buying it, and it just so happened that the ‘Steam Summer Sale’ so I thought, “What the heck!” and decided to splurge the few pounds on the game. I had wanted it for ages, so was glad that it was included in the sale.

 

batman-telltale-new-world_qy9g

Bruce donning the Batman Cowl – Batman: The Telltale Series, Telltale, 2016

Batman is a young man in this game, he’s only seemingly been Batman for a year. From what I worked out he’s barely even 30, and it shows. He’s idealistic and tends to make rash decisions (or at least that’s how I played him). He’s quick to fall in and out of love with people and ideas, and he still needs Alfred to pretty much hold his hand through everything; he needs Alfred to be the Dad he never had.
This game gives new and fresh insight into the story of Bruce Wayne, and the demise of Thomas and Martha when Bruce was a child. It gives the “reader” (should that be player?) a true understanding of why Bruce does all of this. Throughout the beginning of the story, Bruce is helping out Harvey Dent become the new Mayor to replace Mayor Hamilton Hill, the current and corrupt Mayor of Gotham. Harvey and Bruce are, as Selina calls them, “BFFs” and watching Harvey’s decent into madness (to become Two-Face) has an obvious effect on Bruce. I also really enjoyed the way that Selina and Bruce had a small, and semi-unrequited, romance blossom between them – admittedly I did screw that up at one point, and she became slightly more standoffish with me that I had wanted.

maxresdefault (1)

Friend or Foe? Batman and Catwoman waiting to strike – Batman: The Telltale Series, Telltale, 2016

However, of course it has to all go wrong for Bruce. Suddenly, and with no warning, Bruce’s family name is besmirched. Your job, as Bruce, is to find out what’s going on. Mayror Hill is a man that has connections to both the corrupt Carmine Falcone and… the Waynes? It’s the player’s job to find out why these connections exist, and what that means for Bruce’s family. An old family friend, Oswald “Oz” Cobblepot, who grew up with Bruce, comes to bite him in the behind. It’s up to the player to determine who is friend and who is foe. Luckily, the Telltale games evolve around the player’s choices, so everyone will end up with a slightly different story.

 

SPOILER HEAVY PICTURES
See below for my choices throughout the game, and what kind of Batman I turned out to be.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have you played Batman: The Telltale Series? What did you think? Have you played any other Telltale games, or other graphic novel point and clicks? What were your thoughts? Want me to play the new Guardians of the Galaxy one, and give you all my thoughts (please say yes!)? Leave a comment down below! 

(Header Image: Batman: The Telltale Series, Telltale, 2016)

Leave a Reply

